The 68th Entomological Society of New Zealand Conference

Kia ora!

We warmly invite you to the 68th annual conference of the New Zealand Entomological Society, to be held in beautiful Hanmer Springs, at the Hanmer Springs Heritage Hotel, from the 7th – 9th of February, 2019. Registration is now open ​and can be completed using the attached form, or by contacting the venue (Heritage Hanmer Springs) directly with all your details on 03 315 0065. We have an exciting programme planned including outreach events and a star-studded line-up of plenary speakers (see list below). Please join us for what is always an inclusive, stimulating and collegial conference that is particularly student-friendly. We look forward to seeing you there!

On behalf of the Society Executive and organisers,

Ngā mihi,
Greg Holwell

Key Dates:

23 November 2018: Registration and abstract submission opens
20 December 2018: Early bird registration closes
11 January 2019: Deadline for KJ Fox Awards and 21st Anniversary Awards
17 January 2019: Abstract submission closes
07 February 2019: Conference begins

Transport and Accommodation

Heritage Hanmer Springs has provided an exceptional and affordable package that provides bus transfers to and from Christchurch, accommodation on site in their beautiful hotel, all meals and conference costs. Of course, while in Hanmer Springs, you can enjoy the abundant access to nature and their thermal springs, a perfect summer getaway that you can claim as “work”. The timing this year is to coincide with the International Congress of Arachnology, being held at Lincoln University from the 10th – 15th of February.

[leaflet-map height=250 width=80% lat=-42.520793 lng=172.830310 zoom=15]

[leaflet-marker lat=-42.520793 lng=172.830310]

Plenary Speakers:

David Maddison (Oregon State University, USA; co founder of the Tree of Life Project; Phylogenetics of Coleoptera)

Tara Murray (Canterbury University, NZ; Insect Conservation)

Rosemary Gillespie (University of California, Berkeley, USA; Pacific Biogeography)

Glauco Machado (University of Sao Paolo, Brazil; Evolution of Arthropod Parental Care)

Preethi Radakrishnan (LaGuardia Community College, USA; Insect Ecological Immunity)

Peter Michalik (University of Greifswald, Germany; Arthropod morphology and advances in imaging technology)

KJ Fox Awards

The KJ Fox Award is open to current members to provide financial assistance to attend the annual conference. Applications must be received by the secretary by 11 January 2019. Successful applicants will be notified at the conference. Please find more information on the awards, including the application form, here.

21st Anniversary Awards

The 21st Anniversary Awards are open to groups, clubs or individuals to provide financial assistance with their research. Applications will be assessed on the quality of the proposed research and the ability of the applicant to complete the project. Applications must be received by the secretary by 11 January 2019. Successful applicants will be notified at the conference. Please find more information, including the application form, here.


For any enquiries or further information please email the conference organisers.